Benchmark of mobilization and support practices for entrepreneurial diasporas - MEET Africa

Benchmarking practices for mobilizing and supporting entrepreneurial diasporas

Categories : Resources
Date: 29-05-2024

The MEET Africa 2 project is being carried out in partnership with 5 countries: Tunisia, Morocco, Cameroon, Côte d'Ivoire and Senegal. Its primary objective is to strengthen local ecosystems supporting diaspora entrepreneurship. To this end, the project, through its country coordinators, has supported entrepreneurship support players in a retrospective and prospective analysis of the issues, approaches and support practices in place and to be developed.

As an extension of this approach, national stakeholders were keen to have an outside view and concrete examples of the best practices implemented by countries recognized as dynamic in terms of diaspora support.

The MEET Africa 2 program aimed to a comparative analysis of best practices best practices in mobilizing and supporting the entrepreneurial diaspora worldwide, in order to produce a benchmark of practices for mobilizing and supporting entrepreneurial diasporas outside the program's countries of intervention.

MEET Africa 2 entrusted the task of designing this document to Innogence Consulting, a firm specialized in economic intelligence and innovation, which carried out the studies and research as well as writing the report. This document was written by Anne BADJECK and Diana ABIASSI.

The ambition of this document is to be useful for the orientation and decisions of players in the ecosystems supporting diaspora entrepreneurship, whether private or public (public institutions working on diaspora issues, support structures, etc.) in African countries.

This document allows you to : 

  • Recall the potential for entrepreneurship of theAfrican diasporaworldwide, the preferred sectors of activity and the related challenges;
  • Draw up a panorama of the most dynamic countries in terms of mobilizing and supporting diaspora entrepreneurs (five countries in all, including African and European countries, as well as countries in other geographical zones such as Latin America, etc.);
  • Present best practices in mobilizing and supporting diaspora entrepreneurs, which have been identified as potentially transferable to the countries covered by the MEET Africa 2 program.

For the purposes of this study, the term "good practices" refers to :

  • Practices to facilitate the creation of businesses and activities by diaspora entrepreneurs in their countries of origin, as well as the mobilization of the entrepreneurial diaspora in the development dynamics of countries of origin (via mobilization campaigns, integration into national development policies, etc.);
  • Practices implemented in a specific business context to address the difficulties encountered by diaspora entrepreneurs;
  • Inspiring practices that countries (African or otherwise) can draw on to improve their policies for mobilizing and supporting entrepreneurs from their diaspora.
  • All forms of action, policies, mechanisms, systems and services put in place by central and decentralized institutions, entrepreneurial support services, banks and civil society itself, to structure, stimulate and support the diasporic entrepreneurial ecosystem.

Enjoy your reading!

Discover our news

MEET Ecosystem Morocco

🇲🇦 Thank you to all our partners who attended our MAROC Ecosystem MEET, which took place on April 19, 2024 at the Casablanca Technopark.

MEET Ecosystem Tunisia

🇹🇳 Thank you to all our partners and participants at our MEET Ecosystem event in Tunis on February 22.

MEET Her Morocco 2023

🇲🇦 The MEET Her Maroc event "Envol entrepreneurial des Marocaines du monde" organized in partnership with the CGEM, on December 19, 2023 in Casablanca brought together

MEET Ecosystem Tunisia December 2023 MEET Africa

MEET Her Tunisia 2023

🇹🇳 THANK YOU to everyone who attended our MEET Her Tunisia event on December 17, 2023!

Previous
Next

Benchmark des pratiques de mobilisation et d’accompagnement des diasporas entrepreneuriales - MEET Africa

Benchmark des pratiques de mobilisation et d’accompagnement des diasporas entrepreneuriales

Categories : Ressources
Date : 29-05-2024

Le projet MEET Africa 2 est réalisé en partenariat avec 5 pays : la Tunisie, le Maroc, le Cameroun, la Côte d’Ivoire, le Sénégal. Son premier objectif est de renforcer les écosystèmes locaux d’appui à l’entrepreneuriat de la diaspora. À cette fin, le projet, à travers ses coordinateurs pays, a notamment accompagné les acteurs d’appui à l’entrepreneuriat dans une démarche d’analyse rétrospective et prospective des enjeux, démarches et pratiques d’accompagnement existantes et à développer.

Dans le prolongement de cette démarche, les parties prenantes nationales ont souhaité avoir un regard extérieur et des exemples concrets sur les bonnes pratiques mises en œuvre par des pays reconnus comme dynamiques en matière d’appui aux diasporas.

Le programme MEET Africa 2 a souhaité dresser une analyse comparative des meilleures pratiques de mobilisation et d’accompagnement de la diaspora entrepreneuriale dans le monde, afin de produire un benchmark des pratiques de mobilisation et d’accompagnement des diasporas entrepreneuriales en dehors des pays d’intervention du programme.

MEET Africa 2 a confié la mission de la conception de ce document au cabinet Innogence Consulting, cabinet spécialisé en intelligence économique et en innovation, qui a réalisé les études et recherches ainsi que la rédaction de ce rapport. Ce document a été rédigé par Anne BADJECK et Diana ABIASSI.

L’ambition de ce document est d’être utile à l’orientation et aux décisions des acteurs des écosystèmes d’appui à l’entrepreneuriat diasporique, qu’ils soient acteurs privés ou publics (institutions publiques intervenants sur les thématiques diasporiques, structures d’accompagnement, etc.) dans les pays africains.

Ce document permet de : 

  • Rappeler le potentiel de l’entrepreneuriat de la diaspora africaine dans le monde, les secteurs d’activité privilégiés et les enjeux qui y sont liés ;
  • Dresser un panorama des pays les plus dynamiques en matière de mobilisation et d’accompagnement des entrepreneurs de la diaspora (cinq pays au total, parmi lesquels des pays africains, européens, mais aussi des pays présents dans d’autres zones géographiques telles que l’Amérique latine, etc.) ;
  • Présenter les bonnes pratiques de mobilisation et d’accompagnement des entrepreneurs de la diaspora retenues comme susceptibles d’être transposables aux pays d’intervention du programme MEET Africa 2.

Dans le cadre de cette étude, le terme « bonnes pratiques » fait référence :

  • Aux pratiques permettant de faciliter la création d’entreprise et les activités des entrepreneurs de la diaspora dans leur pays d’origine, ainsi que la mobilisation de la diaspora entrepreneuriale dans la dynamique de développement des pays d’origine (via des campagnes de mobilisation, l’intégration dans les politiques nationales de développement, etc.) ;
  • Aux pratiques mises en place dans un contexte professionnel précis, en vue d’adresser les difficultés rencontrées par les entrepreneurs de la diaspora ;
  • Aux pratiques inspirantes sur lesquelles les pays (africains ou non) pourront s’appuyer pour améliorer leurs politiques de mobilisation et d’accompagnement des entrepreneurs de leur diaspora
  • A toutes formes d’actions, de politiques, de mécanismes, de dispositifs ou encore de services mis en place par les institutions centrales et décentralisées, les services d’appui à l’entrepreneuriat, les banques et la société civile elle- même, pour structurer, stimuler et accompagner l’écosystème entrepreneurial diasporique.

Bonne lecture !

Découvrez nos actualités

MEET Ecosystème Tunisie

🇹🇳 Merci à l’ensemble de nos partenaires et participants présents lors de notre MEET Ecosystème qui a eu lieu à Tunis le 22 février dernier.

MEET Her Maroc 2023

🇲🇦 L’événement MEET Her Maroc « Envol entrepreneurial des Marocaines du monde » organisé en partenariat avec la CGEM, le 19 décembre 2023 à Casablanca a réunit

MEET Ecosystème Tunisie décembre 2023 MEET Africa

MEET Her Tunisie 2023

🇹🇳 MERCI à toutes les personnes présentes lors de notre événement MEET Her Tunisie qui a eu lieu le 17 décembre 2023 !🔎La diversité de

MEET Ecosystème Côte d’Ivoire 

🇨🇮 Merci à tous les participants l’événement MEET Ecosystème Côte d’Ivoire qui fut un formidable moment de rencontre entre les entrepreneurs de la diaspora ivoirienne

Précédent
Suivant